We Got a Little Makeover. What Do You Think of Our New Look?

We had planned to save the reveal of our site’s makeover for January, but we’re just too excited about it to wait. So … here it is! We’ll continue to bring you the latest beauty trends and products we love while helping solve your pressing (or not so pressing) beauty problems. We’ll just look a little better while doing it. We hope you like the easier-to-navigate design and welcome any feedback you have to share.

And while we’re on the topic of makeovers, I was on the receiving end of a mini hair makeover myself recently. It gave me the confidence boost I was in serious need of. It sounds superficial to say, but when you look good (or even think you look good) you feel good and exude confidence.

My mini makeover was all thanks to two talented artists at the Spoke & Weal salon in Los Angeles. My colorist, Dell, boosted my natural dark blonde hue by adding thick ribbons of three beige-blonde shades. The result was subtle, but gave me a hit of brightness I was lacking. Lindsay, who did my cut, chopped off a couple of inches, but more importantly, she thinned out the under layers of my thick hair to make it easier to manage and help it appear less poofy. This subtle tweak made me like my shorter haircut so much more. Here’s the before an after. The photos aren’t great, I know, (the lighting was better in the “before”), but I think they give you a good sense of the transformation.

hair makeover beauty editor on call

Do you have plans for a makeover in 2015? We’d love to hear about it and share advice if you’re open to it!

Leave a comment

Filed under Hair, Hairstyles

Comment on this post

