Super Easy Homemade Dry Hand Fix

DIY-Beauty

My hands look one hundred years old. The combination of dry winter weather with constant hand and baby bottle washing are the culprits. Yes, I could wear rubber gloves to prevent the scalding water from sucking the life (er, hydration) out of my skin, but somehow that seems like such a chore. Washing all of the bottle bits and pieces are enough work.

But, I’m finally realizing I need to start taking better care of my hands or I’ll pay for it later. Thankfully, Skyy Hadley, celebrity manicurist and owner of As “U” Wish Nail Spa sent a few handy tips my way.

I followed a little at-home hand treatment she recommended. I even got my husband in on the scrub portion. He was amazed by the results. Here it goes…

Make an at-home sugar scrub to slough the scales off your hands and fingers.

Recipe:

3 Tbs Brown Sugar

1 Tbs Vegetable Oil

Few Drops of Essential Oil (I used my favorite stretch mark-preventing oil: Mama Mio Tummy Rub Stretch Mark Oil, $35)

Combine the ingredients and “gently rub the scrub into the hand in circular motions starting at the center of the hand and working your way to the tips of the fingers. Repeat on the underside of the hand and then again on the other hand,” says Hadley. Let the scrub sit on your hands for a couple of minutes and rinse with warm water. Pat hands dry.

Add even more moisture to your skin with this trick: “Fill two plastic freezer baggies 2/3 full with a thick, moisturizing cream and heat in the microwave until very warm but not hot [test the temperature]. Place each hand in a bag for about two minutes to deeply penetrate the skin,” says Hadley.

The result? My hands look a lot less flaky and dehydrated, and because it was so easy, it was actually quite enjoyable. I might just have to make this a weekend ritual.

1 Comment

Filed under Skin, Skin Care

One response to “Super Easy Homemade Dry Hand Fix

  1. love this! i use the brown sugar with grape seed oil but will definitely have to try this one out! thanks for sharing!
    http://www.sincerelywhitney.com

Comment on this post

