Hair and Makeup Tricks Courtesy of L’Oreal Paris Experts Plus Enter Our Glam Giveaway

I caught up with the hair and makeup pros who were busy beautifying guests for the many events, parties and dinners that take place during Golden Globes weekend. Here are the top five tips I personally think are worth adopting:

Tip 1: Use eyeshadow base. Though many of us skip this step, makeup artist April Chaney says it’s essential if you want your eye makeup to last all day. It also helps the shadow you put over it really pop.

Tip 2: Change up your part. Confession: I rarely (OK, never) change up my part. My hair just wants to part where it wants to part and it’s not easy to fight it. But, after chatting with hairstylist Ramiro Rodriguez I am going to start to make an effort to switch it up. He said that if we always wear the same part, our hair actually thins out along that part. Based on my own experience I believe this to be true, though I’ll have to confirm with a doc. Either way, it can’t hurt to make a change every once in a while, right?

Tip 3: Always finish your makeup look by sweeping loose powder under your eyes using a tapered eyeshadow brush, says Chaney. It’ll prevent makeup from creasing it that area.

Tip 4: Add a bit of movement and soft texture to strands while flat ironing. If you’re not going for a pin-straight style, twist some of the sections of your hair before gliding over them with a flat iron. Rodriguez says this will add a bit of bend to your hair and give you a more lived-in finish.

Tip 5: Top your lip color with clear gloss to keep lips looking fresh all day. Chaney says that when celebrities need to look fabulous for the cameras for hours, her trick is to first apply a lip color of choice and then top it with a glassy, clear gloss like L’Oreal Color Riche Le Gloss in Naturally Nude, $7.95. As the day goes on only reapply the gloss to freshen up your lip color and keep your lips looking moist. It’ll act like a barrier for your color — keeping it intact all day.

But that’s not all …

In celebration of the Golden Globes, I have a red carpet-worthy glam giveaway to award to one lucky reader who comments on this post. We’re giving away …

Lauren Merkin Diana Metallic Snake Clutch

MICHAEL Michael Kors Pave Curb Link Bracelet

16 L'Oréal Paris Hair, Skin and Makeup Products

L’Oreal Products Include:

L’Oréal Paris Youth Code Dark Spot Correcting & Illuminating Serum and Day Cream SPF 30

4 Shades of L’Oréal Paris Infallible Eye Shadow

2 Shades of L’Oréal Paris Infallible Lip Gloss 8HR

L’Oréal Paris Magic Smooth Soufflé Blush

L’Oréal Paris Voluminous Smoldering Eyeliner

2 Shades of L’Oréal Paris Colour Riche Nail Polish

4 L’Oréal Paris EverStyle Alcohol-Free Styling Products

L’oréal Paris Elnett Unscented Hairspray

Comment on this post by Monday, January 16th at 8pm EST for a chance to win. US Only.

20 Comments

Filed under Eyes, Hair, Hairstyles, Lips, Makeup

20 responses to “Hair and Makeup Tricks Courtesy of L’Oreal Paris Experts Plus Enter Our Glam Giveaway

  1. Jess

    I used to always change the side I part my hair on just to help give me a new look and feel. I haven’t done it in years, but now I’m thinking it might be a good idea to switch it up once again, especially if it means reducing the chance of thinning hair in . Thanks for the tip!!

  2. Michelle

    Thanks for the tips!

  3. Susanne Tatum McCurry

    If I win, will they teach me how to use all this stuff??? Thanks!

  4. Tara Cowell

    I’m going to try the powder under my eyes for sure.

  5. Bri Moysa

    How fun would it be to win all these goodies! Crossing fingers

  6. lindsay schenz

    Great tips! A little munckin told me to start changing up my part even though i never do, and it really made a difference. Now i change it up all the time!

  7. Mercedes

    Do you recommend using the eyeshadow base just for special occasions or everyday use?

  8. Love your blog, I get your email updates every morning! Great job!

  9. Julie

    Tips are the true essence to BEAUTY!!! Thanks.

  10. Nancy stern

    Great advice. Going to try the change part suggestion.

  11. The changing up your part is a hard one for me especially since I have curly hair and like you said it just goes where it wants. I’ll have to add that in because it really does change your face. I just started wearing lipsticks and that made a huge difference in itself. I love Loreal their stuff doesn’t make me break out but I’ve always wondered about trying their youth code. Great post!

  12. Auntie S

    What is the best long-lasting eye shadow that doesn’t crease?

    P.S. I always put powder under my eyes-makes the liner last all day

  13. I love the tips & agree with them all…need to try Tip #3 though. I can’t wait for the Golden Globes tonight & love Ricky Gervais. Thanks for hosting this awesome giveaway.

  14. great beauty tips. thanks for this giveaway

  15. Just started using an eyeshadow base last year. I wish I started using it earlier. It really does help the makeup apply much better & keeps it lasting longer as well.

    Thank you for the chance! 🙂

  16. I always have trouble with making my eyes look more alert. Thank you for the tips on eyes & the hair thing omg I have a fear of thinning hair so I will def try switching it up! Love the blog! I’m a boy when it comes to glam so now maybe I can transition into a girl with your blog! Baby steps!

  17. Great blog! Love the tips especially the eyeshadow base I’ve had plenty of racoon eye nights :/ the base should definitely help. Love the bracelet I’ve always wanted something from Michael Kores!

  18. Congratulations to Nicole O. — the winner of our Glam Giveaway!

Comment on this post

